Primary Seat Belt Law

 

Fasten Your Seat Belts Primary Seat Belt Law Effective June 9

Effective June 9, 2009, Minnesotas seat belt law is a primary offense, meaning drivers and passengers in all seating positions must be buckled up or in the correct child restraint. Law enforcement can stop motorists for seat belt violations. A seat belt ticket is $25 but usually costs more than $100 with administrative fees.

 

This law is critical to road safety each year around 200 motorists killed are unbelted and more than 400 are seriously injured.

 

A seat belt is your best defense in a crash especially when Minnesota roads are threatened with speeding, distracted and impaired drivers.

 

Seat belt enforcement of this law begins with you speak up and insist your passengers are buckled up. In a crash, unbelted passengers can slam into and injure or kill others in a vehicle.

 

Seat Belt Fact Sheets

2006-2008 Minnesota Seat Belt Overview

2006-2008 Minnesota County Seat Belt Fact Sheet

2006-2008 Minnesota County Teen Seat Belt Fact Sheet